Staying Fit While Traveling Part 1

IMG_1401

Staying in shape is difficult. It’s literally a pain in the butt and requires time and energy. But it makes you feel good, stay healthy, look hot, and boosts confidence. So what happens when you decided to put yourself in a situation that takes you away from a regular routine?

I am currently on a 1.5 month journey across the states. Fitness is an important part of my life so it’s difficult for me to get thrown out of my usual schedule. That’s why I decided to do this series, staying fit on the road. My on the road fitness journey started this past weekend in Boston, MA. It was my first time visiting, and it was the perfect place to start this little project.

My first order of business was to go to Salem, MA where I had the best Indian food you can find on the East Coast. If you’re ever in Salem go to Passage to India. It’ll be well worth your time. After stuffing my face with nan and curry, my travel buddy and I walked around the main center of Salem. I’ll be honest, Salem sucks. It’s really boring, there’s hardly any history stuff, the witch shops are cheap and gimmicky, and there’s to many brick buildings. However, we did walk for about an hour looking at the few witchy shops Salem has to offer. Workout for the day, done. It is very important after any workout to have some kind of recovery meal. My recovery meal was an asparagus salad, and huge slice of chocolate mousse cheesecake from the Cheesecake factory.

The next workout happened Sunday when we went and explored the City. As a warm up we went to a lovely little coffee shoppe called The Thinking Cup. This cute coffee shoppe sells Stumptown coffee, proud moment from me since that’s THE coffee roaster of Portland OR, and makes delicious nutella filled croissants. Also their baguette sandwiches are pretty tasty.

IMG_1393      IMG_1394

After a serious warmup at The Thinking Cup we began the main bulk of our workout. Walking around the city. This was actually a pretty real workout. We walked at least 5 miles, which in winter boots on the old roads of Boston isn’t the easiest task. For a little break we stopped into the Green Dragon for some drinks and the best mussels I’ve ever eaten. And of course we stopped at Mike’s Bakery and had some desert. After replenishing our depleted bodies we braced ourselves for the hardest part of the day’s workout, climbing to the top of the Bunker Hill memorial. In all seriousness that was actually difficult. It’s over 200 steps. I’m in pretty good shape, and I had sore calves the next day. To finish up we went to a delicious Italian restaurant Benevetos. By the end of the day we were completely beat down.

IMG_1425     IMG_1429

For those of you shaking your heads because you thought this article would be more helpful I did do a tabata workout on Monday. Tabata is when you take an exercise and perform it for a period of time, usually short, then rest for an even shorter period of time. For example, you could do pushups for 20 seconds then rested for 10. I picked four exercises and did the 20×10 rotation for a minute then switched it up. After 16 minutes you are beat and feel like you did an hour’s worth of working out. Tabata is usually done with body weight exercises. It can be done anywhere easily and without taking up much time while still making you feel great!

IMG_1399

Fitness and staying in shape is great and amazing and everyone should do it. But honestly sometimes it just doesn’t make sense. I happen to love food and traveling and the two together can make a normal hardcore workout routine pretty damn difficult. But it can still be done and we can still have plenty of time for fun along the way.

IMG_1420

One thought on “Staying Fit While Traveling Part 1

  1. Hilarious, Hannah! I love your workout! It’s one I can follow easily. You are my workout hero! Food. Walk to more food. Climb some stairs. Have a recovery piece of cheesecake. I’m with ya! The tabata one…well, not so sure. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

